Hermann Nitsch

Hermann Nitsch

Hermann Nitsch was born on August 29, 1938 in Vienna. He is the crucial founder of Viennese Actionism and is regarded as one of the most versatile contemporary artists: action performer, painter, composer (symphonies, organ concerts), and set designer. His synthesis of the arts, the Theatre of Orgies and Mysteries, encompasses the broad spectrum of his art by calling on all five senses – the tragic leads us to becoming involved with flesh, blood and intestines.

Just before completing his training at the Graphische Lehr- und Versuchsanstalt in Vienna with a diploma (1953-1958), Nitsch takes a position as a commercial artist at the city’s technical museum in 1957. Privately Nitsch focuses his artistic interest initially on Expressionism, which he links to mostly religious figurative scenes. Beginning in 1960, following a period in which Nitsch had turned more towards literature, he returned to painting, creating works in the Arte Informel style. It is in this year that the first painting actions take place, and already they are seeking to realize the idea of the Theatre of Orgies and Mysteries. Revolving around the intensive sensory experience of various substances and fluids, these actions become increasingly provocative in the coming years. Following screaming and noise action performances, conceived as abreaction plays, Nitsch undertakes the dismemberment of lambs, which lead to further actions involving flesh. After the Theatre proves a resounding success in the US and Germany at the end of the 1960s, Nitsch performs numerous actions throughout the 1970s in cities across Europe and North America.

In 1971 Nitsch is able to acquire Prinzendorf Castle in Lower Austria from the Catholic Church, a purchase that allows him to now also realize his musical ideas for his theatre in large-scale action performances. Noise orchestras, scream choirs and electronically amplified instruments all play a part. Nitsch interprets life as passion, the painting process as a condensed form of life and thus as the very incarnation of passion. Through the painter smock he wears while working, subsequently positioned centrally in the painting, the artist remains present and animates the viewer to identify with the painting process and accompany him into the painting.

The highpoints of Hermann Nitsch’s projects are the “three day play” of 1984 in Prinzendorf or the cycle of pour paintings he creates in 1987 at the Vienna Secession. The ideal of the “six day play” is performed in 1998. Since the 1990s Nitsch’s art is increasingly honoured in a series of exhibitions, which are frequently accompanied by performance actions by the artist. In a changed political and social climate, Nitsch can now establish himself as a universally recognized creative artist.

Hermann Nitsch lives and works at Prinzendorf Castle on the Zaya River, Lower Austria, as well as in Asolo, Italy. His works are exhibited in the two Nitsch Museums in Mistelbach and Naples as well as in the Nitsch Foundation in Vienna and in prestigious international museums and galleries.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List

Hermann Nitsch

Hermann Nitsch

Hermann Nitsch wurde am 29. August 1938 in Wien geboren. Er ist entscheidender Gründer des  Wiener Aktionismus und zählt zu den vielseitigsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern: Aktionist, Maler, Komponist (Sinfonien, Orgelkonzerte), Bühnenbildner. Sein Gesamtkunstwerk das Orgien Mysterien Theater umfasst das breite Spektrum seiner Kunst, indem es den Einsatz aller fünf Sinne erfordert - das Tragische führt zur Auseinandersetzung mit Fleisch, Blut und Eingeweiden.

Nach einer diplomierten Ausbildung an der Graphischen Lehr- und Versuchsanstalt in Wien (1953-58) übernimmt Nitsch 1957 eine Stelle als Gebrauchsgrafiker am technischen Museum der Stadt. Privat orientiert sich Nitsch zunächst am Expressionismus, den er mit großteils religiösen Figurenszenen verbindet. Ab 1960, nach einer Zeit der Hinwendung Nitschs zur Literatur, kehrt er mit Werken, die dem Informel verpflichtet sind, zur Malerei zurück. In diesem Jahr finden auch erste Malaktionen statt, die die Idee des Orgien Mysterien Theaters umzusetzen versuchen. Die Aktionen, bei denen es um das intensive sinnliche Erleben verschiedenster Substanzen und Flüssigkeiten geht, werden in den folgenden Jahren immer provokativer. Nach Schrei- und Lärmaktionen als Abreaktionsspiele realisiert Nitsch Lammzerreissungen, die zu weiteren Aktionen mit Fleisch führen. Nach großen Erfolgen des Orgien Mysterien Theaters Ende der 60er Jahre in den USA und Deutschland führt Nitsch während der 70er Jahre in vielen europäischen und nordamerikanischen Städten Aktionen durch.

1971 gelingt der Ankauf des niederösterreichischen Schlosses Prinzendorf aus dem Besitz der Kirche, wo Nitsch im Zuge groß angelegter Aktionen auch seine Vorstellungen von der Musik zu seinem Theater verwirklicht. Bei den Aktionen werden Lärmorchester, Schreichöre und elektronisch verstärkte Instrumente eingesetzt. Nitsch deutet das Leben als Passion an, sowie den Malprozess als verdichtetes Leben und damit als Inbegriff der Passion. Der Künstler selbst bleibt durch seine an zentraler Stelle im Bild eingefügten Malhemden, die er während der Arbeit trägt, anwesend und animiert den Betrachter, sich mit dem Malvorgang zu identifizieren und mit ihm ins Bild einzutreten.

Höhepunkte von Hermann Nitschs Projekten sind das "Drei Tage Spiel" 1984 in Prinzendorf oder der Zyklus von Schüttbildern, die er 1987 in der Wiener Secession herstellen konnte. Das Ideal des "6 Tage Spiels" verwirklicht Nitsch 1998. Seit den 90er Jahren wird seine Kunst auch immer häufiger in Ausstellungen gewürdigt, die häufig von Aktionen des Künstlers begleitet werden. In einer veränderten politisch-gesellschaftlichen Situation kann Nitsch sich als anerkannter Kunstschaffender etablieren.

Hermann Nitsch lebt und arbeitet auf seinem Schloss in Prinzendorf an der Zaya, Niederösterreich sowie in Asolo, Italien. Seine Werke sind in den beiden Nitsch Museen in Mistelbach und Neapel sowie in der Nitsch Foundation in Wien und in den renommiertesten internationalen Museen und Galerien ausgestellt.

Mein Besuch

0 Einträge Eintrag

Voraussichtliche Besuchszeit

Liste senden